News Search Results

Your Search:      # of Results: 47

2012 Border Battle Results

Posted: March 14th, 2012
The 11th Annual Iowa - Minnesota Border Battle took place March 9, 2012.
As always, attendance was great and we saw 15 matches and 4 bonus matches pitting Iowa-Iowa.
Check out the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame website and download all the results and view some exciting pictures!
... [ Read More ]

IWHOF inducts Severson, Carter, VanArsdale

Posted: April 17th, 2011

Wrestling Hall inducts Severson, Carter, VanArsdale
... [ Read More ]

Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame Announces 2011 Inductees

Posted: March 24th, 2011
Cresco, IA:

Three individuals with northeast Iowa ties will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in Cresco on Monday, April 11. The 42nd Annual Awards Banquet and Induction Ceremony will begin with a 5:30 social hour followed by a 6:30 banquet at the Cresco Country Club south of Cresco.

Two former Waterloo wrestlers, Mike VanArsdale and Stewart Carter, will be inducted into the hall of fame along with Arlin Severson, who was a successful wrestler and coach at New Hampton.

Mike VanArsdale won a NCAA Division 1 title for Iowa State University in 1988 , and was a two-time Olympic Alternate (1996 & 2000). He also was a 1991 World Cup Champion, a CISM (Military) World Champion and a University National Freestyle Champion.  At Iowa State VanArsdale had a 108-33 record and was a three-time All American.  VanArsdale wrestled at West Waterloo in high school where he was a state champion as a junior and state runner-up as a senior.  VanArsdale currently lives in Chandler, AZ.

Stewart Carter was also an NCAA champion at Iowa State, winning his title at 158 pounds in 1987. Carter went 76-23-4 while wrestling all four years at Iowa State after being a “walk on” wrestler as a freshman.
Carter wrestled at Waterloo Columbus High School and was a four-time state qualifier, placing third twice and was a state runner-up as a senior. Carter currently lives in Cedar Falls.

Arlin Severson coached his New Hampton teams to four state titles. In 1990 the New Hampton team won both the state team title and the state dual meet title and they followed that up with the same titles in 1993.  He coached eight state champions and 62 conference champions.  Severson was a 112 pound state champion in 1957 while wrestling for New Hampton. Severson lives in New Hampton.

Banquet tickets are available at the Cresco Chamber of Commerce (563-547-3434), CIA Insurance in Cresco (563-547-2382) and Farmers Mill, Protivin (563-569-8501). Tickets are $20 and advance registration is required.

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame is located in the Cresco Welcome Center at the intersection of Highway 9 and Elm Street. The Hall of Fame will be open until 6:00 p.m. the day of the banquet.

... [ Read More ]

2011 Border Battle

Posted: March 12th, 2011
The high school seniors representing SE Minnesota edged the high school seniors representing NE Iowa in the 10th annual Border Battle.  The meet was held in Cresco on Friday March 11th.  The dual came down to the last match.  Click on the Border Battle tab above for complete results and pictures.
... [ Read More ]

Remembering Dave Harty

Posted: October 10, 2010
Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame member Dave Harty passed away on October 8, 2010.  Dave was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1991.  He was also a member of the Halls selection committee, and served as it's chairman for many years.  As with everything Dave did, he embraced the leadership role and worked hard to improve the IWHOF.  He will be greatly missed.  Our sincere condolences to his family.
... [ Read More ]

Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame welcomes Class of 2010 Ironside, Smith, Roethler, Chapman

Posted: April 23rd, 2010
April 21, 11:09 AMCollege Wrestling ExaminerMark Palmer

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame welcomed college wrestling champions Mark Ironside and Jason Smith, high school coaching legend Bob Roethler, and wrestling writer and historian Mike Chapman as Class of 2010 honorees. The presentations were made at a banquet at the Cresco Country Club in Cresco, Iowa on April 12.

IWHOF selection committee member Dan Gable introduced the two wrestlers:

  • Mark Ironside wrestled for Gable at the University of Iowa, winning four Midlands crowns, two Big Ten titles and two NCAA Division I championships in the late 1990s.
  • Jason Smith was a teammate of Gable's at Iowa State University in the late 1960s and early 70s, winning back-to-back NCAA titles at 167 pounds in 1969 and 1970.

Selection committee member Dave Harty introduced Bob Roethler, who put Emmetsburg High School on the wrestling map in the 1970s, winning team and individual titles at the Iowa state wrestling tournament, despite life-threatening health issues. Roethler wrestled at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa.

Mike Chapman was introduced by selection committee Don Gooder. Chapman, a native of Waterloo, was honored for his 40 years of promoting wrestling through his numerous books, the establishment of WIN (Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine), and creating the Dan Gable International Wrestling Institute & Museum in Waterloo.

Want to stay on top of the latest news in college wrestling? If so, subscribe to College Wrestling Examiner!  You'll be automatically notified every time a new story is posted here. To sign up for your FREE subscription, click on the "subscribe" button at the top of this page.


Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame: Website... Mark Ironside profile... Jason Smith profile... Bob Roethler profile... Mike Chapman profile... awards banquet recap (includes photos)

Mike Chapman: Official website

Follow College Wrestling Examiner Mark Palmer on Twitter

... [ Read More ]

2010 Awards Banquet Recap

Posted: April 15th, 2010
The 2010 Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame induction ceremony and awards banquet was held on Monday evening April 12th at the Cresco Country Club, in Cresco, IA.  A crowd of nearly 150 enjoyed the program.

Following dinner, selection committee member Don Gooder presented inductee Mike Chapman.  Chapman entertained the crowd with his knowledge of wrestling history, centering much of his talk on the great Frank Gotch. 

Selection committee member Dan Gable introduced inductees Mark Ironside and Jason Smith.  Ironside spoke of his experiences in the Iowa wrestling room, and practicing with the Brands brothers on a daily basis. 

While introducing Smith, Gable had teammates Tom Peckham and Chuck Jean join him and Smith at the podium.  Gable stated that he considered the four legends in wrestling, and that this was a very special occasion for him.  Smith spoke of the four as"hunter killers".  He then talked about changing the way we think about improving as athletes, working from inside the body with what we put  in it.

Selection committee member Dave Harty introduced inductee Bob Roethler.  Roethler recounted his fight for life with an aneurysm and colon cancer, and stated that wrestling in fact saved his life.

Read the full profile of the 2010 inductees, along with the rest of our 97 honorees, in the inductee section of our web site:  
... [ Read More ]

Here's your opportunity to visit with Bob Steenlage

Posted: April 14th, 2010
Bob enjoys talking with coaches, wrestlers or anyone else who could use a boost of encouragement over the phone or in person.  Just give Bob a call and/or tell him whom you would like him a call and the phone number.  (Bob can be reached at 608-323-2065 / 8199 / 0243)  View his website for contact information and more on Bob's presentations and personal development opportunities, and/or his book "Fighting Back."  His biography is written by Mike Chapman, who was inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2010.

Bob would like all to know about a Personal Development program he conducts every Thursday at 9 PM ET, 8 CT, 7 MT and 6 PT.  Just call the following conference call line: 712-432-2900, pin 635-261#.  You can email Bob at

... [ Read More ]